The difference between primary Sjögren’s and secondary Sjögren’s?

Types of  Sjogren’s Syndrome

There are 2 kinds of Sjogren’s Syndrome – Primary and Secondary

1. Primary – localized mainly to the eyes and mouth

People with primary Sjogren’s have a greater chance of extra glandular involvement.

2. Secondary – systemic – occuring in conjuction with other connective tissue diseases such as lupus or rheumatoid arthritis.

The difference between primary Sjögren’s and secondary Sjögren’s?

Sjögren’s syndrome is usually classified as either primary or secondary. All people with Sjögren’s can experience severe discomfort and complications.

Primary Sjögren’s occurs by itself and causes early, gradual and progressive decrease in the gland function in the eyes and mouth. It can include a variety of extraglandular conditions involving dysfunction of the heart, lungs, liver, renal system, nervous system, muscles, joints, skin, vascular system and blood.

Secondary Sjogren’s occurs in people who already have another autoimmune connective tissue disease, such as rheumatoid arthritis,vasculitis or lupus. These people then develop dry eyes and/or dry mouth.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

please turn off adblocker.